Skip to content

» About Against All Grain

November 6, 2012

Reblogged excerpt from: About Against All Grain.

From the site author:

I’m Danielle – a mom, wife, and grain-free cook from the San Francisco Bay Area. I find joy in my free time by creating delicious comfort foods on a restricted diet and sharing them with you! My recipes are entirely grain-free, and consequently gluten-free, free of refined sugars, and low to minimal dairy. This site is great for those that follow the Paleo, Primal, SCD, GAPS, and Gluten-Free lifestyles. I have a passion for food and its flavors and textures, and refuse to feel deprived despite being limited in what I eat.

I was diagnosed with Ulcerative Colitis, an autoimmune disease, when I was 22 years old. After a few years of suffering, multiple hospitalizations, and doctors telling me that what I ate wasn’t a factor in my disease, I decided to take matters into my own hands and drastically change my diet. I initially created this blog to catalog my journey on the Specific Carbohydrate Diet, a diet created for those with Crohn’s, Colitis, Celiac, and Autism. However, after a couple of years on the diet, a lot of research, and simply listening to my own body, I have concluded that every one is different and our bodies all react differently to various foods.

While I still follow the SCD for the most part, I’ve eliminated all legumes, lowered my dairy intake, and have added a few items back in that I’ve found my body can process such as raw cacao and occasionally dark chocolate. Due to these changes, my current diet looks more similar to the Paleo or Primal lifestyle. You will see that I label my recipes to let readers know if something is SCD, Paleo, or Primal legal to help in any confusion. I’m still experimenting and figuring things out, but I hope to find the right combination of diet and supplements soon!

I hope this blog and my recipes can inspire you to get healthy and to know that in doing so, you do not have to live in a world of bland food!

Bon Appétit!

via » About Against All Grain.

From → grain_free, Recipes

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

